Wk 11 – Artist Conversation – Yujia Gun

Exhibition Information

Artist: Yujia Gun
Exhibition: Tracing Gun Violence in the USA, MFA
Media: wall art, screenings, video, etc
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

About the Artist

Yujia Gun is currently a 3rd year standing but is graduating CSULB this spring semester, congrats!!! She had mentioned that she started MFA 2 years ago and after finishing MFA in China, she transferred over to CSULB as a Graphic Design major. Therefore, Yujia is an international student! I didn’t ask her where she is currently living but I would assume somewhere close if living in an apartment or maybe dorming in the Hillside International Housing! She chose CSULB mainly because of the weather and I know a lot of people from Asian countries usually love California’s weather! She had different offers from different schools as well and considered to going to New York for school, but ultimately decided on Long Beach! She actually lived in New York for 3 years, which is pretty impressive! Her inspiration sparked from her mom because of how worried she was about her daughter going to school in the U.S. due to news talking about gun shootings and violence.

Formal Analysis 

When I first walked through Yujia’s exhibition, the first thing that captured my eye was how organized everything was and how everything almost seemed so clean and simple. What was interesting to me was that after reading her statement, the exhibition actually gave off a more serious feeling since gun violence isn’t something to joke about. Her pieces seemed very structured and informative! Also the visual representation of her exhibition title was really captivating. Her whole show seemed like something I would see at LACMA or The Broad where it had wall art and a very short documentary with the wall being the screen. It seemed very modern and is the easiest way to capture people’s attention.

Content Analysis 

All her pieces were very fitting for the subject of the exhibition, as the pieces should be. The content of them was all about the gun violence. I really enjoyed the wall piece that had combined pictorial phrases together. It wasn’t just a bunch of words and had pictures that can show deeper meaning. The short documentary and projections were a nice touch and put everything together. It definitely made me feel a little uncomfortable and how scary this gun violence has progressed over the years. It doesn’t seem to be getting any better and it can be quite terrifying.

My Experience/Synthesis 

Overall, I liked Yujia’s exhibition and I found it very interesting with gun violence statistics. I actually thought it was really sweet that her mom was really worried about Yujia studying in the U.S. and how she got her inspiration from her mom’s worries. It doesn’t offend me either about how much gun violence we have here and I’m glad her mom is worried because it should be something to be worried about. I’m glad Yujia wanted to research about this topic and show this to her audience through her way of art! I also liked how she made conversation with me and my friend by asking us what our majors are and what year we are!

Thank you for reading! Here are some pictures!

IMG_8808.JPGIMG_8804.JPGIMG_8805.JPGIMG_8806.JPGIMG_8807.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

